17 Years

Seventeen years ago my life veered off onto a different path. Dear husband and I were enjoying 10 years of marriage and were content to work hard together on and off the farm. Life was filled with things we wanted to accomplish and happily journeyed toward them. We regularly talked about having kids and both wanted children in our future, we just couldn’t make a decision when that should be. So, each year we put it off until the next, hoping the choice would be more clear to us.

But God wasn’t willing to wait on our decision. You know the saying, “If you want to make God laugh, tell him your plans.” My quiet, controlled daily existence was now replaced with preparations for our first child. You know all the things a first time pregnant mother fills 9 months with…nursery themes, What to Expect When You Are Expecting books, researching cribs, car seats, strollers…the list goes on and on. And after all the book reading and researching, most of us first time mothers are sure we are prepared for everything and will be much better at the job than those mothers we see at the mall doing all the things the book says NOT to do.

Enter Honorable Son #1.

Honorable Son #1

Honorable Son #1

He was born at home in the room he now calls his own on a beautiful Fall afternoon. At the time I had several farm “pets” that called my front yard home. One of them was a Banty Silky Rooster and he liked to roost on the railing of my front porch. It was from that porch rail that Son #1’s entrance into the world was announced to all the farm with a loud “Cock-a-Doodle-Do” from this small black rooster, and my life was forever changed.

tail feathers from the "farm crier"

tail feathers from the “farm crier”

I’m thankful that God’s plan for me was to be a mother. I don’t know if Dear Husband and I would have ever gotten around to starting a family. We were just too content where we were. I know now, 17 years later, that reading about perfect parenting and living perfect parenting are two very different things. Having the honor of caring for another life beyond your own is a precious gift that comes with joy, hardships, and lots and lots of lessons to be learned each day.

1st Easter

1st Easter

I look forward to what lies ahead, joys and struggles with this beautiful child I have the privilege to call my son.

Image result for quotes about life and learning

Happy Birthday.

One thought on “17 Years

Leave a Reply

