25 Days of Cookies

The month of December has arrived and along with it comes the never ending head full of ideas…the joy of looking for gift inspiration, gathering all the materials to create that gift and then “building” it with my own two hands, overwhelms all my sense of reality. The reality that making gifts for all the people on my gift list requires lots of hours…I don’t mind committing the hours to the task, I just never have enough of them and sadly I skid into Christmas Eve with bleary eyes, glue still wet and threads still attached to the sewing machine. Yes, December is my month of insanity-doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. And this year is churning out to be no different.

While I get excited about creating magic with handmade gifts, the correct way to light the tree, matching Christmas outfits, and perfectly wrapped presents, my house full of casual-celebrating men could care less about any of that Christmas “stuff.” To make things more difficult they have no Christmas “wish list.” So this year, as I racked my brain trying to come up with a fun, creative gift to give them, I decided to give them something that they never seem to tire of…cookies! I bake on a regular basis, but I am sure if you asked them they would say they never have sweet stuff to eat. Their memory of the things I bake for them lasts about as long as the baked good itself. So starting today, December 1, 2015 I have planned to bake them a different cookie each day(I’m shaking my head as I type this and thinking “What have you just committed yourself too?” Just remember, I’m suffering from my “December insanity” right now.)

To kick off this month of cookies, today’s cookie is a Ginger cookie recipe that was given to me by my friend Ginger. Why would anyone use any other recipe, right? And yet every once in a while when I try a different recipe for Ginger cookies, Dear Husband says, “Why didn’t you use Ginger’s recipe?” I guess one of the reasons is mine never turn out as good as Ginger’s. I am hoping it is because I just haven’t practiced making them enough…and Dear Husband is more than happy to keep eating them until I get them right. The flavor is good, but my cookie, as you can see, spread out and go flat.

DSC02031

Soft Ginger Cookies

Thanks, Ginger, for sharing your recipe with me. My house full of men are thankful to have this cookie in their cookie jar. I hope you don’t mind me showing off a “flattened”version of it, and sharing it with others.

Soft Ginger Cookie

3/4 c butter                1/4 c molasses                 1 c sugar

1 egg                       2 1/4 c flour                    2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon              1/2 tsp each-salt, ginger, cloves

1/4 tsp nutmeg

Cream butter, sugar & molasses. Add egg, beat. Mix in flour and spices. Roll in sugar flatten slightly. Bake at 375 for 8-10 minutes. For special occasions dip cooled cookies in melted white chocolate. Melt 1 bag of white chocolate chips with 2 Tbs shortening; do not use butter or margarine. Dip cookies so 1/2 is covered in white chocolate.

DSC02028

flour and spices for Ginger cookie

 

DSC02029

Ginger cookie mixing

DSC02030

Ginger Cookie waiting to be baked

See you tomorrow with a new cookie(the dough is already mixed and resting in the refrigerator!)

1 Cookie down~24 more to go!

 

 

Leave a Reply

