25 Days of Cookies, day 9

Whoopie! It’s day 9…guess what cookie it is today…? That’s right, it is Whoopie Pies. As I said in the last post, chocolate cookies aren’t really loved around here(except by me!), but these chocolate sandwich cookies seem to be an exception for Honorable Son #2. It has been a while since I made them and as I scoured my recipe books I found several different recipes. I settled on one that I thought I had made in the past and liked, but after finishing them today, I think I will be making some changes for any future batches.

The recipe comes from a book that I received as a birthday gift from a family member titled Taste of Home’s Complete Guide to Baking. I have made many recipes from this book including the Cinnamon Swirl Quick Bread that has become a regular Christmas gift for many friends and family members. The book was printed in 2004 making it hard to find in print, here is a link to a possible place to purchase it;

http://www.abebooks.com/9780898214161/Taste-Homes-Complete-Guide-Baking-0898214165/plp

Whoopie Pies

1 c Butter, softened

1 1/2 c Sugar

2 Eggs

2 tsp Vanilla

3/4 c Baking Cocoa

2 tsp Baking Soda

1/2 tsp Salt

1 c Water

1 c Buttermilk

Cream Butter and Sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs and vanilla; Mix well. Combine Flour, Cocoa, Baking Soda and Salt; Add to creamed mixture alternately with water and buttermilk, beating well after each addition.

Drop by teaspoonfuls 2 in. apart onto greased baking sheets. Bake a 375 for 5-7 minutes or until set. Remove to wire racks to cool completely.

Filling

2 c Marshmallow Creme

2 c Confectioners’ Sugar

1/2 c Butter, softened

2 tsp Vanilla

In a small mixing bowl, beat filling ingredients until fluffy. Spread filling on the bottom of half of the cookies; Top with remaining cookies. Yield; about 3 dozen.

The dough for this cookie is very tender, under-baking does not give a desirable cookie to work with, so I left my cookies cool slightly on the cookie sheet before removing them to the wire rack. I would make this dough again for the cookie because I like the flavor a lot. The batter tastes like chocolate cake batter. Honorable Son #1 wanted me to just leave it as dough to scoop up and eat.

The change I would make for future batches of these cookies would be the filling. The flavor of the filling is good and similar to Oreo cookie filling, but it is very gooey and sticky. And it was difficult to keep it between the cookies. Luckily, I individually wrap these cookies so that they don’t stick to each other and they can be easily frozen and removed from the freezer one at a time when someone gets hungry for one. If you aren’t wrapping each “sandwich” I am afraid you would have a mess with cookies tops sliding off and filling dripping everywhere. Next time I will choose a recipe with a filling that includes shortening and is closer to being the consistency of icing.

Leave a Reply

