25 Days of Cookies, day 12

As I have said in previous posts, the men in this house aren’t chocolate lovers. When they have a choice, they always choose vanilla; vanilla ice cream, vanilla cookies, white/yellow cake, if it is vanilla they prefer it. So even though the cookie for day 12 is chocolate, I knew I could help them change their vanilla minds with the gooey, minty, Andes candy swirled around in the center of this very chocolaty cookie.

I had never made this recipe myself, but received a batch of these cookies in a cookie exchange with the recipe included. This is another recipe that uses butter and once again my cookie is flatter than what I remember the cookies I ate being. So this cookie is going to require a little more practice for me if I ever have the chance of making it look as wonderful as it tastes.

Andies Candies Mint Cookies

3/4 c Butter

1 1/2 c Brown Sugar

2 TBS Water

In a large pan on the stove, melt butter, brown sugar, & water.

12 oz Chocolate Chips

Remove butter mixture from heat, add chocolate chips; stir; wait 10 minutes.

2 Eggs

2 3/4 c Flour

1/2 tsp Salt

1 1/4 tsp Baking Soda

Add eggs, flour, salt, and baking soda; mix to form dough; chill for 1 hour(or until dough is well chilled)

24 Andies Mints(cut in half)

Roll dough balls & bake at 350 for 8-9 minutes. Remove from the oven; place half of one mint on each cookie; swirl with fork; let cool & serve. Makes 4 dozen.

Two things I would change in an effort to have a more beautiful looking cookie;

  1. I would have chilled my dough longer. I waited only one hour and my dough was not very cold, colder dough may have helped prevent the cookie from spreading out as much as they did.
  2. I would make my dough balls smaller. The recipe states that the yield is 4 dozen. I only ended up with 30 cookies. The cookie size most definitely effects the cookie’s bake time.

 

DSC02145

Andies Candies Mint Cookies

Leave a Reply

