25 Days of Cookies, day 14

Here we are at Day 14, wow! Today’s cookie is a cookie that I have been baking at Christmas time for the past few years, the Pizzelle. This yearly tradition started out of my desire to make cookies at a time when I had no oven. I will spare you the oven story, it is long and ridiculous, and most of my friends are well acquainted with my oven woes. Needless to say, I wanted homemade cookies and only a toaster oven to work with, so I had to come up with a different plan of attack. Pizzelles were the answer. I purchased a Pizzelle Iron and quickly began turning out delicious, aromatic cookies. Each year I am tempted to try some of the fun varieties of Pizzelles, but in this house the anise flavored option is the preferred flavor and so I stick to the cookie that I know everyone will eat. The recipe I use is one that was included in the box with the Pizzelle Iron,

Traditional Italian Pizzelles

3 Eggs, room temperature

3/4 c Sugar

1/2 c Butter or Margarine, melted and cooled (I use butter)

1 tsp Vanilla

1/2 tsp anise(optional, but not in our house)

1 3/4 c Flour

2 tsp Baking Powder

In a large mixing bowl, beat the eggs and sugar. Add the cooled butter or margarine, vanilla and anise. Sift the flour and baking powder together and add to the egg mixture. The batter should be stiff enough to be dropped by spoon. The batter can also be refrigerated to be used later.

Wearing a watch with a second hand is very helpful when baking this cookie. After dropping the batter onto the iron and closing the lid, baking time is only 30-40 seconds. I have found that I can get a rhythm going and spend 30 seconds baking followed by 30 seconds removing the cooked cookie and reloading the iron. After making lots of these cookies, I still have to work at getting “perfectly” shaped cookies. The challenges lie in getting the exact amount of dough to fill the cookie pattern but not have it spilling over or falling short of the edges and placing it in the right spot on the iron so that the cookie pattern is filled in evenly. I never get many “perfect” so I neaten the finished cookies by trimming the outer curved edges to make the cookie look more uniform. We have all come to love the trimmings of these cookies as much as the whole cookies themselves. 🙂

DSC02143

Pizzelles cooling

DSC02146

Pizzelles-anise flavored

This recipe makes approximately 2 1/2 dozen cookies.

2 thoughts on “25 Days of Cookies, day 14

  1. I’ve been out of town watching my grandson, so today I read through most of your cookie posts in one sitting. I am so impressed! So far I’ve had a crazy December and haven’t done any Christmas baking. I need to get cracking – baking puts me in the Christmas spirit, and when you are having Christmas in Phoenix that Christmas feeling needs all the help it can get!

    Like

Leave a Reply

