25 Days of Cookies, day 18

The days seem to be picking up speed as I approach the magical day of Christmas. The many plates that I have spinning are beginning to wobble and my stamina is waning. So maybe it was my delirious physical state or my need for a pick-me-up that I chose a chocolate cookie for day 18. Even though the men in this house don’t love chocolate, they seem to be pouring a big glass of milk and enjoying this scrumptious cookie. This recipe is one of several from my friend Ginger and I am grateful for her baking talents and her willingness to share with others. Thanks Ginger!

Chocolate Cookies

Cream together;

1 c + 3 TBS Shortening

2 3/4 c Sugar

1 c Cocoa

6 Eggs

1 TBS Vanilla

In a separate bowl mix together;

2 3/4 c Flour

3/4 tsp Salt

2 1/2 tsp Baking Powder

Add dry ingredients to creamed mixture, Mix well, Dough will be soft and hard to handle, Drop by rounded TBS into powdered sugar, roll until covered and place on greased baking sheet. Bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes. Remove from pan quickly or they will stick.

I cut this recipe in half because I only had 1/2 c of cocoa. Also, I refrigerated the dough overnight so that it was easier to handle and I baked them on parchment paper and had no trouble with the cookies sticking to the pan.

DSC02160

Chocolate Cookie ready to be baked

I love how this chocolate dough ball covered in white powdered sugar bakes out to become a beautiful “snow-sprinkled” chocolate landscape that has just a little crunch on the outside and is soft and chewy goodness on the inside, very much one of my favorite cookies.

DSC02159

Chocolate Cookie hot out of the oven. Mmmm!

One thought on “25 Days of Cookies, day 18

  1. Oh, I love these! They are called “special cookies” in my house. Named that by a neighborhood child years ago, who used to ask when I was making “special cookies?” Merry Christmas!

    Like

Leave a Reply

