25 Days of Cookies, day 20

For day 20 I chose a cookie that I haven’t made or even seen for a long time, but it is one of Dear Husband’s requests for this cookie list. After making it again I know why I haven’t made(or frankly, even seen it) this unusual cookie in such a long time. This cookie is known in our house as Strawberries, the recipe is titled Strawberry Fruit Balls. In the past it was one of those cookies that you found on a mixed cookie tray. I am sure it was chosen to add color and interest to the mix of cookies, but I believe it is a cookie that you have to learn to like(or hate it forever!) 🙂

Strawberry Fruit Balls

1 (14 oz) can Sweetened Condensed Milk

1 c Chopped Walnuts

2 c Shredded Coconut

1 (6 oz) package Strawberry Flavored Jell-O

1 (3 oz) package Strawberry Flavored Jell-O

Mix all the ingredients except the 3 oz box of gelatin. Cover mixture and place in the refrigerator overnight. The next day, roll mixture into strawberry shapes. Place the 3 oz box of gelatin in a plate, and roll the shaped strawberries in the gelatin until coated. Place bits of mint leaves to create the stems; secure the stems with a piece of toothpick.

I did not use mint for the leaves, I had plastic strawberry leaves stashed away from the many years ago when I had made the cookies.

DSC02166

Strawberry Cookies- those cookies are bright colored?!?

This is a cookie that is far too rich(and bright) for me, but Dear Husband is thrilled to see and eat them once again.

Leave a Reply

