25 Days of Cookies, day 22

The cookie baking continued on day 22 with Raisin-Filled Cookies. This recipe is one that belonged to Dear Husband’s Great-great aunt, and “great-great” she was. This God-fearing, hard-working, women lived to be 101 years old. She never gave birth to any children, but over her life time she nurtured and loved many. I was honored when I received her hand-written Raisin-Filled cookie recipe and keep it safely tucked away in my recipe book. I love remembering her when I see her hand writing and feel blessed to be able to continue sharing her cookie with others.

Raisin-Filled Cookies

Cream together:

2 c Sugar

1 c Shortening

Add:

3 Eggs

1 tsp Vanilla

2 TBS Milk

Combine together dry ingredients:

4 c Flour

4 Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Salt

Add dry mixture to creamed mixture, Chill dough 2 hours or overnight before rolling out.

Raisin Filling

1 box raisins

2 c Water

1 c Sugar

1 tsp Vanilla

Cook raisins, water and sugar. Add enough flour to thicken(I use 3 packed TBS and I add it before cooking or you will get lumps of flour) Remove from heat and add vanilla; Allow to cool. Roll dough and cut out cookies *two cut-outs for each cookies* Assemble cookie by placing one cookie shape on cookie sheet, add one tsp of raisin filling to the center of bottom cookie, cut a hole into the center of the second cookie, place the second cookie on top of the raisin filling/cookie combination.

DSC02174

DSC02177

Raisin-Filled Cookies

One thought on “25 Days of Cookies, day 22

  1. Yum! I’m going to have to try these. I had a friend in PA, who used to make raisin cookies, and I loved them. I hope all the cookies were enjoyed, and you had a wonderful Christmas!

    Like

Leave a Reply

