Becoming a “Great-“

Twenty-nine years ago I became an Aunt for the first time. It is easy for me to remember how long ago it was because that beautiful baby was born the same year that I was married. In my wedding photos that sweet little boy was wearing an adorable hand knit sweater given to him by his great-aunt(she may have been his great-great-aunt). And with his birth, my days of sewing gifts for babies began.

Nephew #1 was expected to arrive in January, so for my first hand made baby gift I chose to make a red corduroy snow suit. It was a super cute finished project, but not very practical for the next nephew who was born in July. So I began the search for a versatile handmade baby gift that could become my “go-to” gift.

Image result for quotes about gifts for baby

 In that search I found this McCall’s pattern that has become the pattern most used in my entire pattern collection.

 photo DSC02686_zpsy6cpbjbu.jpg
It has been sewn for gifts and for everyday items to be worn for my own two boys. I love the t-shirt design with the overlap shoulders making it easy to slip over the baby’s head and no snaps or buttons to wrestle closed. photo DSC02688_zps5aqe0lwe.jpg Another plus for diaper changes is the outfit being in two pieces, being able to remove the bottoms only means less stuff to wrestle and baby stays warm while the diaper is being changed. photo DSC02689_zps8hmxmmfm.jpg

Finally the most perfect part of this pattern is the attached feet. I mean come on, who doesn’t love attached footsies?!? They look super cute, the pattern design makes them easy to sew and, most of all, baby can’t slip them off to be lost like all those tiny annoying socks. photo DSC02690_zpsrwjsby1f.jpg photo DSC02691_zpssyt9ovui.jpg

The T-shirt portion of this pattern is designed for stretch knit fabrics, but the rest of the pieces can be made from woven or stretch fabric and the size range goes from the Newborn size for babies up to 14 lbs. to a Medium size for babies up to 26 lbs. photo DSC02692_zpstycglibl.jpg

These two newest outfits were made for my first Great nephew. WOW! I am soon to officially be a Great Aunt. Up until this point I have always tried to be a good aunt, knowing for sure there are times I could have done better, but now having an important title like “Great-” raises the bar. I am looking forward to meeting this first Great Nephew and praying that his blessings are many, and for now(and for the benefit of his parents sanity), may his smiles and sleep be plentiful.

Related image

Leave a Reply

