“Phew”

April has come to an end. “Phew,” that is all I have the energy left to say. I remember on the 1st of April taking a deep breath and praying for the strength and stamina to manage all the up-coming tasks that lie ahead.

Image result for quotes about endless to do lists

One of the events that I had been looking forward to was an annual scrap booking trip away with friends. For several years I have had the blessing of spending a few days away from my wife and mother duties to embrace the role of friend and craft-er. It is a wonderful gift to escape the duties of home for three days of laughing, sharing and nurturing myself through creative scrapbook pages, or in the case of this year, sewing a quilt top for Honorable Son #1’s graduation gift.

 Image result for quotes about nurturing yourself

Part of the fun in preparing for this trip is finding the perfect “hostess” gift for the other girls sharing in the vacation. Most recently that gift has been something that I have sewn for them and has now become a personal challenge to discover a new, hand-made, fabric gift idea. This year the pattern/idea search began months ago and ended when I found a pattern titled “Zip-Up Tray Pouch” by Aneela Hoey.

Image result for zip-up tray pouch by Aneela Hoey

Zip-Up Tray Pouch

This pattern was well written and went together quickly. I love the shape.

The hardest part was finding the 10 inch separating zippers. My local JoAnn Fabric store carries light-weight 10 separating zippers, but I wanted to use a medium weight metal zipper. I was able to find the zippers in a variety of colors from an Etsy shop.

  photo DSC02722_zpsiwdd4cck.jpg

I filled these pouches with a few things the girls might use while away on this retreat; scrap book doodads, nail polish and polish remover pads, and, of course, some candy. photo DSC02723_zpskhhgrufe.jpg

I could see this pouch being perfect for packing your make-up or personal hygiene items for traveling with the un-zipped tray keeping your items together. This would also be a great bag for a variety of craft items, pencils, markers, scissors, etc., or this pouch/tray might be handy for those long car rides, containing a few toys or game pieces to entertain those restless kids.

4 thoughts on ““Phew”

  1. What a cool little project! I can see where those would be very handy. Scrapbook retreats are always fun, I haven’t been on one for quite a few years, but always accomplished a lot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

