“I Come to the Garden Alone”

In August Dear Husband and I will celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary. It is hard to believe how quickly that time has passed and how much has changed.

Image result for change is inevitable

But throughout the bendy road we have traveled together, several things have remained constant, with one of those being the place we call home.

Image result for quotes about home

From the time we decided to make a life together, Dear Husband and I knew we wanted our home to be as much land as we could afford with a water source, a few trees, and a place to plant stuff. And beginning with our first Spring season as newly weds in 1989, we planted. That 2500 square foot patch of yard near our house was among the first soil we tilled and continues today to be our main garden spot.

DSC02823

 

For many of the early years, Dear Husband and I worked together in the Spring to get the soil prepared for planting. He would plow and rototiller, then I would pick rocks and rake the fresh dirt into rows, lay an irrigation line and cover each row with black plastic, finishing with newspaper and straw laid between each row. The preparation was labor intensive at planting time, but eliminated a lot of weeding throughout the growing season.

DSC02831

Now, after 28 years of working this same soil and tilling each year’s straw and newspaper back into the soil, I am able to prepare for the new season’s planting with just my garden fork and rake. There is no longer a need for intensive plowing to loosen the soil. Dear Husband does haul in some compost and/or manure to feed nutrients into our garden plot, but for the most part, “I come to the garden alone.”

DSC02828

I had many lofty goals over the years of being a gardener;

  • grow and can or freeze all our vegetables for the year
  • grow vegetables that other people weren’t growing
  • have a picturesque, magazine quality garden
  • grow the biggest/best vegetables
  • have a weed-free garden
  • use everything/have none of the harvest go to waste
  • have a disease-free garden

the list goes on and on, with no growing year ever completely accomplishing the season’s goals, leaving this gardener always a little disappointed in my growing skills.

DSC02824

 

This year, though, I have experienced a change in my gardening attitude. On the planning paper, this year’s garden would have had me very disappointed already.

  • Everything got planted late
  • pesky voles are still calling my space home and eating the things they and I like
  • many weeds still remain with the Bearded Iris bed lost in the mess

Again, my list could go on, but this year my discouraged attitude has been replaced by an overwhelming sense of peace and eyes of promise to see the bounty of blessings flourishing from this well fed soil.

DSC02829

 

This year’s garden lesson seems to be a little like the lesson that the Grinch learns about Christmas:

Β Image result for lines in grinch when he learns what christmas is

My garden doesn’t have to be about filling the freezer with the biggest, straightest pest-free, weed-free vegetables. My garden, “…perhaps, means a little bit more!”

DSC02830

 

There is a favorite old hymn that floats through my head these days when I spend time working in the garden;

I Come to the Garden Alone

I come to the garden alone,
While the dew is still on the roses,
And the voice I hear, falling on my ear,
The Son of God discloses.

(Chorus)And He walks with me, and He talks with me,
And He tells me I am His own,
And the joy we share as we tarry there,
None other has ever known.

DSC02827

 

He speaks, and the sound of His voice,
Is so sweet the birds hush their singing,
And the melody that He gave to me,
Within my heart is ringing.

(Chorus)And He walks with me, and He talks with me,
And He tells me I am His own,
And the joy we share as we tarry there,
None other has ever known.

DSC02833

 

I’d stay in the garden with Him,
Tho’ the night around me be falling,
But He bids me go, thro’ the voice of woe,
His voice to me is calling.

(Chorus)And He walks with me, and He talks with me,
And He tells me I am His own,
And the joy we share as we tarry there,
None other has ever known.

DSC02832

 

“The joy I share as I tarry there”-in my garden-I pray, you will know.

4 thoughts on ““I Come to the Garden Alone”

Leave a Reply

